This may sound weird, but I'm going to ask anyway :)
Are all the recipes on the website approved by you all as being DanielFast "worthy" so to speak? My church begins a 21 day fast on the 8th of Jan. So I am planning ahead. I LOVE your website and what you are doing.
May god Bless you both!
Thank you for taking the time to send us this good question, Tiffany.
We've made an effort to advise about replacements for foods to avoid that may be in a recipe that someone has sent us. There is a lot of latitude in the Daniel Fast. We avoid all animal products, so fish and poultry are not allowed. Some people are not ready to do a standard Daniel Fast/Diet. They have concerns about protein or some other issue like diabetes, that keeps them from the Vegan diet required by the Daniel Fast/Diet.
For these people, we advise them to do a modified Daniel Fast/Diet, allowing eggs or non-fat dairy products
. Some decide to follow the Eastern Orthodox Church
application, allowing fish products.
The foods that are controversial are fermented or sweeteners: Molasses, agave nectar, raw sugar, raw honey, stevia, and Maple syrup are possible sweeteners, though we avoid them personally. http://www.stevia.net/
has more information about stevia, a natural herb. Stevia is available at Amazon.com
. They also have raw honey
and raw sugar
We do avoid all fermented foods, including wine, soy sauce and vinegar. However some people allow soy sauce and vinegar, maybe because they are not aware that they are fermented or feel that is splitting hairs.
Our first list of Daniel Fast recipes
Recipes at our Daniel Fast Blog
For more information about Daniel's Fast, check out these pages at our Daniel Fast Diet
Share your Daniel's Fast Diet comments, advice, questions, answers, encouragement and recipes!
Labels: books, Daniel-Fast-Cookbook, Fermentation, recipes, Sugar, Sweeteners